top of page
  • Writer's picturehuslen batkhaan

The Black Library's Top Authors

Who are the best writers of the Warhammer books? It is well known that the Warhammer setting has some of the deepest lore around. The Black Library is a branch of GW( Games Workshop) that handles the creation of books. They hire Various authors and have them write books on certain characters, factions or events. Amongst such a variety of authors writing on different things the fans have picked out their favorites. So I will be Ranking the Top 3 authors(based on my experience).



3. Chris Wraight


He has by far the best lexicon of the gang. His knowledge of the width and breadth of the English language is staggering. His word economy is fantastic and his prose is genuinely fascinating to read. And he uses this talent to write about the rather niche factions providing fresh perspectives. So much so he is well known for making previously rather ignored factions to become fan favorites within a couple books. He is the main reason the White Scars faction is so popular now.


Excerpt( No Guilt):


'So, what do you want from me? Perhaps some kind of explanation? Some kind of great redemptive story, to explain the way events transpired? Perhaps there was a reason, a causal mote that made everything explicable, and in turn, when you understand that, you might loathe me a little less than you do at present. But there isn’t one. I never had time for redemption. I am, as you might say, elemental. Axiomatic. Somebody within this whole skein of false turns had to be.'

They hate me, not because of what I am, but because of what they were. They hate me because they turned, and I did not. The records of our enemies call us all turncoats, but I changed no allegiance. I was always here, just as I am now, aware of myself and the universe that made me. I lied with every breath I ever took, except to myself. That is purity, of a kind, and something that no other soul in this grand armada of renegades can boast.

I was there at the start. I was there before we even had names for all the things we’re doing now. I have no congregation any more, but I will again. The faithful will come back, thirsty for accounts of how this feat was achieved, and I will have stories waiting for them. Such stories. Stories that will make their ears bleed and their hearts burst.

So it’s not done yet, Erebus. Not yet. Just watch. Just watch.'


  • The Vaults of Terra series

  • The Horus Heresy: Scars


2. Dan Abnet


Book cover of Xenos by Dan Abnet

He is considered one of the original greats as his earlier work covering Horus’s rebellion led to the beginning of the setting's biggest series.(Horus Rising, Legion, Prospero Burns). These books worked as the foundation for many newbies to join the hobby due to how well Dan’s writing initially immersed his readers. As he is able to humanize the various super-human soldiers(The Astartes) , Warhammers most popular icons. I consider Dan Abnett to be one of the best, for his sheer range and general writing talent - all of his Horus Heresy titles read differently, for example, and he is able to nail everything from casual dialogue during soldiers' downtime to intense non stop combat sequences. But his best works are when he is writing about the regular people in the setting such as with his most famous book series:


  • Gaunt's Ghosts series

  • Eisenhorn Trilogy

Excerpt(Brothers Fighting):




1. Aaron Dembski-Bowden



ADB, in my mind, captures the 'soul' of the IP the best, and his novels reassure me why I love this hobby. His writing ability shines through in his ability to write monsters and have them contrast with humans. And each of his books spark great amounts of emotion within the community, because he focuses on characters or factions that are rather disliked and turns it around completely. A big example is the Night lord series where he writes about this group of Space marines(Super soldiers) attacking an innocent world and committing terrorist acts that are 911 levels. But you enjoy the group so much you find yourself supporting and even cheering for these horrific warmongers.


Book cover of Blood Reaver by Aaron Dembski Bowden

Excerpt (Night Lords asking for directions):

‘Be silent, brother,’ Talos told Uzas. ‘The sheer number of lives we need to end is the main reason this will take too long. The gunnery deck must be in pieces by now. These mortals are coming from there.’ ‘How do you know?’ ‘Uniforms, Xarl,’ Talos replied.

Xarl, always one to need the proof of his own eyes, grabbed another human attempting to flee past. The man’s uniform looked like every other – white and generic. What was Talos talking about? He lifted the struggling man off the ground by his greasy hair, holding the officer’s yelling face close to his bloodstained faceplate.

Through the vox speakers in his helm’s snarling mouth grille, Xarl’s voice came out at insane volume. ‘Tell me where you are stationed. Is it the gunnery de–’

The officer – quite deaf now – hurriedly drew a pistol in shaking hands and fired it point-blank into Xarl’s face. The small slug pinged against the ceramite, knocking Xarl’s head back a little before ricocheting with a wet crack back into the man’s own forehead. Xarl took one look at the deep red groove in the man’s skull and dropped the corpse, swearing in Nostraman. He could hear that bastard Cyrion laughing over the vox’



Notable Works:

  • The Night Lords Trilogy

  • The First Heretic

  • The Black Legion Series



And that was my Top 3 Authors if you felt like someone else should've been there instead please say it in the comments. I am always fiending for new books.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page